Chambres hôtes gîtes Bed and Breakfast abbaye Valmagne Pézenas 34

Le Domaine

It was at Fabrègues in 1175, that the Templars came to settle Launac. Templars settled in part on lands of the parish of Mujolan given by the Bishop of Maguelone. Their house still exists Chapel (Old Launac). They tied them to clean the pond Coculle. They dug a channel: called "The Templar Capoulière" to sell pestilentielle water from the pond to the stream of "Garelle. The reclaimed land became available to agriculture. The Templars Launac engaged primarily in the culture, but they also met in the vicinity of monitoring missions and stewardship. The Commandery has emerged in the twelfth century through to the Knights Templar. Rebuilt in the XIV ° Hospitaliers, it took its final form to the sixteenth and seventeenth. Alternately templar house and property of the Knights of Malta, it was sold as national property during the Revolution.

The Commanderie

The name of Launac come from a man name + suffix gaulois: acum.
It would be a great agricultural area (name of man: Launus) While in the middle was a large lake called the lake of Coculse.
There is very strong this Launac depression among the old; Launac St Andrew and the area of La Barthe. Various documents show next to the pond, a barn (or farm) of Granouilleres. That is about in 1175 that the Templars arrived to settle Launac Maguelone of Bishops gave their land in the parish of St. Médard Maguelone for dépaissance herds. The commander of Launac depended on the Commandery of St. Gilles (Gard).

It was essentially an agricultural property. The Templars will see immediately the interest they would have to drain the pond both in terms of public health and culture. So they began this great work with the simple average of the time, ie the strength of the wrists. They dug a big trench to drain the water into the nearby creek Garelle The trench gate in this country the name of the Templars Capouillère (capouillère patois cap head - stream head which collects more). So they put this huge value in depression once mare pestilentielle
We know the famous trial of King Philip the Fair to the Templars and the condemnation by Pope Clement V. In the famous night of 13 October 1308 the Templars were arrested throughout France. Some managed to flee, others imprisoned and sometimes after summary trial condemned to the stake as was the case of the Grand Master of the Order Jacques de Molay, which assigns the king and the pope to the court of God for the current year. The king seized the property of the order, mainly money. What happened to the Templars Launac in particular we do not know. But their land as most of the property passed to the Knights of St John of Jerusalem, or Order of Malta.

The chapel seems Launac represent the characteristics of the architecture of XII century. The vault has a bizarre sculpture to 21 elements, is a figure of the cross of St Andrew, patron of the chapel and the house of Launaea? According to the historian of canon Segossdi Maguelone Diocese of the Templars had founded the church and the parish of St. Andrew of the work of the church of St Jean des Claps The cross of St Andrew and his famous formula: By this sign you Avain, written in Greek, was on one side of the building. The Capouillère cut the road (old road Montpellier Pezenas) up to the area of St Andrew. Passage under the road has required a very careful, unfortunately since the repair work it is no longer visible. During this repair engineers were struck by the regularity up to the slope for drainage and said: Today we would not be better. Thus the Templars Capoullière any trimmed raoulets (small streams) carry on the plains of Launaea honor and benefit of these monks soldiers that men have a little forgotten. Thus the Knights of St John of St John of Jerusalem, or Order of Malta remained owners of the premises until the revolution. In 1792, this beautiful property was sold as national bin. It included between cropland and grassland 500 hectares. It was first divided into five batches acquits by almost all traders Montpellier (Bazille - Landon - Cambon - Besard - Hue). In spring 1794 will be installed on the land for a camp for military instruction which should provide the army of the Pyrenees by General Dugommier. The various farms around were occupied for the purposes of the camp. Launaea of the Templars (known as Launaea old) was occupied by a bakery. The camp was lifted in September 1794 because the very undisciplined recruits caused many disturbances in the vicinity. At the time of the revolution, there were eleven Launac shepherds to the flock.
Thereafter the field was split into many plots.

The Historian of the village.

Chambres hotes gites charme abbaye Valmagne 34 hérault

Le Domaine


C'est à Fabrègues, en 1175, que les Templiers vinrent s'établir à Launac. Les Templiers s'établirent en partie sur des terres de la paroisse de Mujolan données par l'évêque de Maguelone. Leur maison avec chapelle existe encore (Launac le Vieux). Ils attachèrent leur nom à l'assainissement de l'étang de Coculle. Ils creusèrent un grand canal : appelé "La Capoulière des Templiers" pour écouler les eaux pestilentielles de l'étang vers le ruisseau de la "Garelle". Les terres ainsi asséchées devinrent propres à la culture. Les Templiers de Launac s'adonnaient surtout à la culture mais ils remplissaient aussi dans les environs des missions de surveillance et de sauvegarde. La Commanderie a vu le jour au XII° siècle grâce aux Templiers. Reconstruite au XIV° par les Hospitaliers, elle a pris sa forme définitive aux XVI° et XVII°. Tour à tour maison templière puis propriété des Chevaliers de Malte, elle fut vendue comme bien national à la Révolution.

La Commanderie

Le nom de Launac viendrait d’un nom d’homme gaulois + suffixe : acum.
Il s’agirait d’un grand domaine agricole ( nom d’homme : Launus) Tout au milieu se trouvait un grand étang appelé l’étang de Coculse.
On remarque très bien cette forte dépression entre Launac le vieux ; Launac St André et le domaine de La Barthe. Divers documents font état à côté de cet étang, d’une grange (ou ferme) de Granouilleres. C’est environ en 1175 que les templiers arrivent s’installer à Launac Les évêques de Maguelone leurs donnèrent des terres sur la paroisse de St Médard de Maguelone pour la dépaissance des troupeaux. La commanderie de Launac dépendait de la commanderie de St Gilles (Gard).

C’était essentiellement une propriété agricole. Les templiers verront tout de suite l’intérêt qu’ils auraient à assécher l’étang tant au point de vue de la salubrité publique que de la culture. Ils entreprirent donc ce gros travail avec les simples moyens de l’époque, c’est à dire à la force des poignets. Ils creusèrent une grosse tranchée pour évacuer ces eaux stagnantes vers le ruisseau voisin La Garelle cette tranchée porte dans le pays le nom de Capouillère des templiers (capouillère du patois cap : tête – ruisseau de tête qui en recueille d’autres). Ainsi ils mirent en valeur cette immense dépression autrefois mare pestilentielle
On connaît le fameux procés intenté par le roi philippe le bel aux templiers et la condamnation par le pape Clément V. Dans la fameuxe nuit du 13 octobre 1308 les templiers furent arrêtés à travers toute la France. Quelques uns réussirent à s’enfuir, les autres emprisonnés et parfois après sommaire jugement, condamnés au bûcher comme ce fut le cas du grand maître de l’ordre Jacques de Molay qui assigna le roi et le pape au tribunal de dieu pour l’année en cours. Le roi s’empara des biens de l’ordre et principalement de l’argent. Ce qu’il advint des templiers de Launac en particulier nous l’ignorons. Mais leurs terres comme la plupart des biens de l’ordre passa aux chevaliers de St jean de Jérusalem ou ordre de Malte.


La chapelle de Launac paraît représenter les caractéristiques de l’architecture du XII ème siècle. La voûte présente une bizarre sculpture à 21 éléments, s’agirait-il de la figuration de la croix de St André, patron de la chapelle et de la maison de Launae ? D’après le chanoine Segossdi historien du diocèse de Maguelone les templiers auraient fondé l’église et la paroisse St André de l’œuvre de l’église de St Jean des Clapas La croix de St André et sa fameuse formule : Par ce signe tu avaineras, écrit en grec, se trouvait sur un côté de la bâtisse. La Capouillère coupe la route nationale (ancien chemin de Montpellier à Pèzenas) à hauteur du domaine de St André. Le passage sous la route a nécessité un appareil très soigné, malheureusement depuis les travaux de réfection il n’est plus visible. Lors de cette réfection les ingénieurs furent frappés par la régularité donnée à la pente pour l’écoulement des eaux et dirent : Aujourd’hui nous ne ferions pas mieux. Ainsi la Capoullière des templiers toute bordée de raoulets (petits ruisseaux) perpétuent dans la plaine de Launae l’honneur et les bienfaits de ces moines soldats que les hommes ont un peu oubliés. Ainsi les chevaliers de St Jean de St jean de Jérusalem ou ordre de Malte restèrent propriétaires des lieux jusqu’à la révolution. En 1792, cette belle propriété fut vendue comme ben national. Elle comprenait entre terres labourables et prairies 500 hectares environ. Elle fut divisée d’abord en cinq lots presque tous acquits par des négociants de Montpellier (Bazille – Landon – Cambon – Besard - Hue). Au printemps 1794 on installera sur ces terres un camp d’instruction pour les militaires qui devraient fournir l’armée des Pyrénées commandée par le général Dugommier. Les diverses fermes des environ furent occupées pour les besoins du camp. Le Launae des templiers (dit Launae le vieux) fut occupé par un four à pains. Le camp fut levé en septembre 1794 car les recrues fort indisciplinées causaient beaucoup de désordres dans les environs. Au moment de la révolution, il y avait à Launac onze bergers pour les troupeaux.
Par la suite le domaine a été morcelé en de nombreuses parcelles.
L’Historien du village.